Bush Fire Information

Burning Periods

1 May - 30 September No permit required (restrictions (e.g. Total Fire Bans) may still be issued by DFES)
1 October - 14 December Permit required (contact the Shire)
15 December - 31 March All burning prohibited
1 April - 30 April Permit required (contact the Shire)

Are you prepared for a bush fire?

Check out the latest information from the Department of Fire & Emergency Services:


Check current Fire Danger Ratings and any emergency warnings:


How can you protect your property from fire?

As a measure to assist in the control of fire, or to prevent the spread or escalation of a bushfire which may occur, all owners and occupiers of land within the Shire of Meekatharra local government area are required by 31 October each year to clear firebreaks or take measures in accordance  with the bushfire notice and maintain those firebreaks and measures up to and including 30 April each year.

A copy of the Bush Fire Notice can be found here.

Key Dates

15 September Deadline for applying (in writing) for variation on firebreaks
31 October All fire prevention measures must be completed and then maintained until 30 April (or within 14 days of becoming the owner or occupier, should this be after that date)
1 November Fire prevention work inspections carried out by Shire officers begin. Infringements for non-compliance will be issued from this date.
30 April End of fire prevention maintenance period